FLUXNET Seminar Series

The FLUXNET Seminar Series is a monthly community event co-sponsored by FLUXNET Early Career Network, AmeriFlux AMP, and members of the AmeriFlux and FLUXNET communities. The theme of the events will alternate between community and science, and data/tech seminars.

For more information, contact Seminar Series organizers at: fluxnet-seminar-series@fluxdata.org

FLUXNET-ECN Summer Series

For the summer months, the FLUXNET Early Career Network will lead a series of webinars focusing on the international FLUXNET network and its associated regional networks. If you’re new to FLUXNET and flux science, or are interested in participating within a regional network, these webinars will introduce you to the field and provide an opportunity for questions from some founding members.

  • Friday, June 26th, 2020
    • Speaker: Dennis Baldocchi, UC Berkeley
    • Title: Introducing FLUXNET: History and Founding
    • Description: Our inaugural meeting will feature Dennis Baldocchi, Professor of Biometeorology at University of California, Berkeley, who will speak about the history of eddy covariance flux measurements, it’s changing theory, methods, and applications, and the eventual establishment of FLUXNET. Professor Baldocchi helped pioneer the eddy covariance method and his research approach involves the coordinated use of long-term, quasi-continuous flux measurements and theoretical models to study biosphere-atmosphere interactions. Today, he is a co-investigator of the AmeriFlux Management Project, helping support the AmeriFlux and FLUXNET networks. Read his bio here.
    • When: Friday, June 26th, 8-9am PDT | 11a-12pm EDT | 4-5pm London | 12-1 am (27th) Tokyo time
    • Webinar host: Gabriela Shirkey, Michigan State University
    • Contact us: fluxnet-seminar-series@fluxdata.org

 

  • Friday, July 31st, 2020
    • Stay tuned, more details soon
  • Friday, August 28th, 2020
    • Stay tuned, more details soon